Registration of new members is currently closed. Guestbook opened for now.  Guests who have questions may post at our guestbook.  No lengthy debates please. Kindly note: MV is a place for serious learning through mutual consultation where we have zero tolerance for trouble-makers, narcissists and needless disputants. We simply stand for what is compatible with the Noble Quran regardless of titles such as "traditionalism" or "modernism." We have the right to our opinion just as you have the right to yours. All disagreements must be left at that. Final Judgement belongs to The Almighty.
MUSLIM VILLA - QURAN ONLY
January 23, 2025, 03:26:03 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
  Home Help Search Arcade Gallery Links Staff List Calendar Login Register  

Licorice - is it Halal?

+-
Shoutbox
September 28, 2024, 01:32:32 pm Heba E. Husseyn: Martyrdom of Syyed Hassan Nasrallah on Sept.27, 2024. Don't miss our blog post @ Zainabs Lounge.
July 16, 2024, 07:48:21 pm Zainab_M: The 10th of Muharram 1446 (Ashura) has arrived (Juky16).
Pls know it is about Hussein not Abu Huraira nor the Jewish exodus.
Pls read:
- Who was Hussein?
- Did the Prophet (S) fast
on 10th Muharram?

April 02, 2024, 07:27:22 pm Heba E. Husseyn: Details on Leila tul Qadr every Ramadan, links HERE.
November 01, 2023, 03:44:32 pm Zainab_M: Allahhuma ameen .. ameen.
November 01, 2023, 03:43:43 pm Ruhi_Rose: Yes .. making lots of dua everyday ..... watching those real life video clips, my face feels wet with tears all the time.  May ALLAH grant the best to these wonderful, brave & steadfast martyrs,  Ameen ya Allah.
November 01, 2023, 03:38:26 pm Zainab_M: Keep praying, praying a lot for Gaza. It's worse than a prison .. it's a concentration camp.  Children as young as 10 or 11 are having to care for their younger siblings ages 2, 3 and 4 becoz many have lost both parents.  It's a very, very, very tearful situation there.
October 26, 2023, 03:40:19 pm N. Truth Seeker: Don't forget to look up MV Blog Zainab's Lounge for our Gaza updates.
October 20, 2023, 04:24:44 pm Zainab_M: Right sister Heba.  Gaza hospital bombing has the fingerprints of Israel all over it.  For Israel this is no big crime.  They have done this and much worse many times in the past and intend to do the same and worse many more times in near future.
View Shout History
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Send this topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Licorice - is it Halal?  (Read 48440 times)
N. Truth Seeker
Quiet guy technology nerd | TEAM MUSLIM VILLA
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 4562



WWW
Badges: (View All)
« on: September 09, 2011, 11:49:04 am »



I had said previously that licorice is Halal.  Well, it turns out to be not quite.  I mean, licorice itself is Halal but one of the ingredients mixed with it for making the finished product isn't Halal.  That's gelatine. 


English licorice allsort:  (Ingredients)

Sugar, glucose syrup, cane molasses, wheat flour, desiccated coconut, non hydrogenated palm kernel oil, glycerol, liquorice extract, gelatine, corn starch, modified maize starch, natural flavorings (coconut, vanilla, aniseed, orange, lemon, raspberry), cocoa powder, natural colors (beetroot red, curcumin, paprika, grape color extract), beeswax, spirulina concentrate, fruit and vegetable extracts (apple, hibiscus, blackcurrant, carrot, radish, spinach, nettle).


Yikes!   ???   Thanks sister Heba.  No one in my household ate it uptil now but your information came at the right time.  My little niece's birthday is coming up in a week and my sister is celebrating it by throwing a kids' party.  I intended to bring a big bundle of licorice as one of the nibbles for kids .. primarily because it's colorful and kids love that kinda stuff. While I too think vanilla is okay, gelatine is not.  Gelatine is made of animal bones.  If we knew which animal, then probably for something like this, bones of cattle or sheep/lamb would be okay because the quantity used would be so small (as brother Shabir had mentioned about rennet in salad dressings).  But it could also be pig bone and in that case even a small quantity is Haram.   Since it's impossible to find out the ingredients of gelatine, so I will definitely have to quit the idea of bringing this item.  

Thanks a billion for the info, sister.  May Allah be with you and your family.    
Report Spam   Logged


Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Send this topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Scammers & spammers will be reported | © If you borrow MV contents you must mention our link with hypertext | MV Team is not responsible for comments by members or guests.
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy